Stunning Scarlet Lilies

These lilies bloomed in early May. The scarlet color is stunning.

Stunning Scarlet Lilies on Cottonmouth Creek

There are five or six in an old-fashioned concrete planter. They’ve been there a few years.

Stunning Scarlet Lilies on Cottonmouth Creek

They usually grow about 18–20 inches tall, but this year they barely made it a foot. I think they need more space and fresh dirt.

Stunning Scarlet Lilies on Cottonmouth Creek

This is one of about four different kinds of lilies in the yard.

Stunning Scarlet Lilies on Cottonmouth Creek

I’ve discovered lilies really like full sun. I have some in the front that are shaded by the eaves of the house part of the day. They grow at about a 45 degree angle, reaching for the sun.

Stunning Scarlet Lilies on Cottonmouth Creek

When the weather cools off I’m going to dig up all the lilies and cluster them together for a more dramatic presentation.  They bloom on a different schedule so we should have lilies from early May through the summer.

Stunning Scarlet Lilies on Cottonmouth Creek

I want to find a place so we can see them from inside. There’s a big patch of monkey grass that’s in a good spot. However, the dogs and cat have decided it’s a nice cool place to lay in the heat of the day. Monkey grass is not easy to kill, but the middle is turning yellow and dying.

Stunning Scarlet Lilies on Cottonmouth Creek

That would be the perfect place for a patch of lilies. Then there’s a chance the pets won’t care and plop right down on top of them too. Maybe I’ll put one of each out there and see how they fare and put the rest of them someplace safer.

I’ll keep you posted. With pictures, of course.

Jan

 

 

 

 

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Plants, Summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stunning Scarlet Lilies

  1. Tami says:

    Oh these are spectacular Jan!! ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. okscoutr says:

    Hi Jan! The brown spot in the middle of your liriope may be a disease whose name I cannot remember how to spell. https://youtu.be/0iRLYHY_Mcc

    • Jan says:

      Thanks, Nancy! I looked at that video and I’ll have to look closer at the monkey grass, but to me it looks like a “pressure injury”? I don’t know what it’s really called, but it’s what happens when something sits on top of the grass and it turns yellow and eventually dies if you don’t move the thing. But there could be something else going on that I haven’t even thought to look for.
      Jan

  3. Pingback: The Show-Stopping Stargazer Lily | Cottonmouth Creek

Leave a Reply

