Orange Lily May 2017

For the record, these are not Tiger Lilies.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Orange Lily, May 2017 Photo by Jan Miller Stratton

Tiger Lilies have spots on them–which is weird now that I think about it, tigers have stripes. Tiger Lilies should be called leopard lilies because leopards are the orange cats with spots.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Orange Lily, May 2017 Photo by Jan Miller Stratton

Oh well.  The scientists can explain that. In the meantime, these lilies are in my front yard.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Orange Lily, May 2017 Photo by Jan Miller Stratton

This year they bloomed before I noticed so I only got pictures of the last one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Orange Lily, May 2017 Photo by Jan Miller Stratton

I’m going to move them this year. They’re sun lovers and the roof line shades them part of the day so they grow on the diagonal, stretching toward the full sun.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Orange Lily, May 2017 Photo by Jan Miller Stratton

I’ll move them to the front edge of the garden and cluster them with another lily that also grows diagonally toward the sun.

Hope you like them.

Jan

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Flowers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Orange Lily May 2017

  1. Tami says:

    Jan these are my absolute favorite flower in the world!!! I call them tiger lilies only so people will know what I’m talking about!! 😀

    • Jan says:

      Tami ~
      I’ve always called them tiger lilies too. But when I looked for the “official” name I was surprised at how many generic lily names I found. I mean, really? “Orange lilies?” I have some purple/pinkish ones to share too. I wonder what they’re called? LOL
      Jan

  2. Pingback: Stunning Scarlet Lilies | Cottonmouth Creek

Leave a Reply

