Hen and Chicks

Hen and Chicks love my mom’s back patio.

jans-nikon-pix-004

Hen and Chicks in August

I think this colony originally came from Grandma’s farm near Lexington, Oklahoma. (The farm was also loaded with rose rocks, the state rock of Oklahoma. But that’s a different set of photos.)

jans-nikon-pix-113

Hen and Chicks in October

I’ve noticed the green of this succulent deepens and the tips of the leaves turn a dark reddish color when it gets cold. This variety is tolerant of Oklahoma winters, even including a layer of ice.

Hen and Chicks in January on Cottonmouth Creek

Hen and Chicks in January

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Plants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

