Baby Garden Snake

I came through the gate yesterday and saw a pale little snake perched on a vine at the top of the fence. He was keeping an eye on me.

Pale Little Snake on CottonmouthCreek.wordpress.com

Pale Little Snake

By the time I returned with my camera he was gone. But he was so small. I knew he couldn’t get far. I looked at the tangle of leaves from every which way and finally caught sight of his slender light-colored body.

When I first saw him he looked almost clear in the shade of the late afternoon light. However, the green popped out in the light of the flash. Seems to be a baby green garden snake.

Pale Little Snake on CottonmouthCreek.wordpress.com

He was curled around the vine, not at all interested in posing for pictures.

Pale Little Snake on CottonmouthCreek.wordpress.com

When I moved a leaf out of the way for a better look he got mad at me.

Pale Little Snake on CottonmouthCreek.wordpress.com

He curled up ready to strike. And then he did, opening his little mouth to bite me. He wanted to be sure I knew he meant business.

It was pretty darn cute

Pale Little Snake on CottonmouthCreek.wordpress.com

He was maybe ten inches long,  if he would let you measure from the tip of his nose to the tip of his tail.

And he was so slender. More slender than a number two pencil.

Pale Little Snake on CottonmouthCreek.wordpress.com

You can see how small he is compared to the chain link fence in the foreground.

I wonder how long it will take him to grow into the long neon green garden snake I’ve already met.

Any interesting critters in your backyard?

 

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Snakes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baby Garden Snake

  1. Chance says:

    So I noticed a Luna moth outside my front door tonight and had a fun time showing my 8 year old son and two younger daughters. While putting my son to bed we were talking about the moth and I pulled my phone out to confirm the earlier sighting was in fact a Luna moth and came across your blog. After thumbing through all of your pictures and seeing somewhere that you were from Norman I was pleasantly surprised because we’re native okies…only to be more surprised to see pictures of our new hometown, Maumelle, AR. You can practically see lake Willistein from my front yard! All that to say, small world and we enjoyed your pictures, the scripture, and the coincidence 🙂 God bless and boomer sooner!

    • Jan says:

      Thanks so much for checking out my pix! That’s still the only Luna Moth I’ve ever seen, so I’m glad I was able to get some shots of it. I really enjoyed that day at the park. Fun photos, as long as I kept an eye out for the poison ivy! And Boomer Sooner back at ya! Looking forward to the rest of the season!
      Jan

Leave a Reply

