Surprise! The Red Spider Lilies Are In Bloom

I enjoyed the foliage behind my fence for several years before I realized the fleeting bright spot of color just at the edge of the creek bank was a flower and not just a brightly colored falling leaf.

It was a cluster of Red Spider Lilies. Also known as the Hurricane Lily, Surprise Lily, and scientifically as Lycoris radiata.

Red Spider Lily at Cottonmouth Creek

Then it was another year or two before I timed it right to see them bloom and dig them up after the blooms faded. I wanted to put them where I could enjoy them every year and not just catch a glimpse out the back window.

Red Spider Lily at Cottonmouth Creek

They grow on tall naked stalks, but these stalks are clothes with a tangle of Sweet Autumn Clematis and volunteer grape vines.

I found nine stems crowded together. I’ll separate them when the blooms fade and maybe get a few more flowers next year. I’ve built a bird bath out of a wooden stool at the other end of the garden. I’ll put a few bulbs beneath it, they’re the perfect height to give a pop of color under the bird bath.

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Plants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surprise! The Red Spider Lilies Are In Bloom

  1. Scott says:

    Nice pictures … these are great looking flowers!

Leave a Reply

