The Sweet Smell of Autumn is Here

If I were to create a fragrance of my own, it would absolutely evoke the intoxicating scent of Sweet Autumn Clematis. I’m compelled to take pictures of them. Here’s what I shot last year, and here’s my first post about them.

Sweet Autumn Clematis, Cottonmouth Creek

These tiny little flowers burst into clouds of white that cover the fence and climb into the trees.

Sweet Autumn Clematis, Cottonmouth Creek

“Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.”

Sweet Autumn Clematis, Cottonmouth Creek

They remind me of Daffodils, the poem by William Wordsworth.

Sweet Autumn Clematis, Cottonmouth Creek

Even though they aren’t daffodils, they aren’t yellow and it’s not spring.

Sweet Autumn Clematis, Cottonmouth Creek

“Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line”

Sweet Autumn Clematis, Cottonmouth Creek

“Fluttering and dancing in the breeze”

Sweet Autumn Clematis, Cottonmouth Creek

They are so tiny the smallest breeze with send them shivering out of focus so I only shoot them on calm days, which isn’t often in Oklahoma.

Sweet Autumn Clematis, Cottonmouth Creek

I just love them.

And as before, if you want a start for your yard, let me know. I have plenty to share. No charge for the vine, but a little something for postage and packing.

It’s a fast growing vine and if you plant it this fall, you’ll have mountains of fragrance a year from now. Put it up wind from the door so you’ll get a whiff every time you go outside.

Check out this post with a more information.

Jan

 

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Flowers, Plants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Sweet Smell of Autumn is Here

  1. dj says:

    They are beautiful and they do smell wonderful!! Since you have pointed them out to me, I am seeing them everywhere…Just Beautiful!!!! DJ

  2. Pingback: Build a Birdbath « Jan Made It

  3. Pingback: Surprise! The Red Spider Lilies Are In Bloom | Cottonmouth Creek

  4. Pingback: Asian Lady Beetle, I think | Cottonmouth Creek

Leave a Reply

