Gray Cat with the New Camera

Here’s another test shot with my new-used-from-the-pawn-shop camera. It’s a Canon PowerShot SX120 IS in case you missed my last post.

Gray Cat adopted me at least eight years ago. He was a lurker for at least three years before he got into a territorial dispute with some critter in the creek. After a couple of weeks of screeching and yowling during the midnight hours—and significant blood-letting—I finally coaxed him into the house and took him to the vet. He was a bloody mess.

Now his favorite spot is next to my computer.

Gray CatThis is full frame (no cropping) and lit with a regular light bulb in the lamp about 18 inches above the cat and a ceiling light fixture.

If I’d known it was going to turn out so sharp I would have wiped his eyes. When the highs finally dropped below 100° last week allergies spiked and Gray Cat has been sneezing.

Notice the shallow depth of field. The photo info tells me this is f 3.5. His eyes are in focus, but his mouth and whiskers are just a tad not sharp.

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Pets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gray Cat with the New Camera

  1. pam says:

    Actually, as long as the eyes are sharp – i am told the other features don’t matter so much.

    I love the shot. You grey cat seems quite content. Allergies and all. And YOU seem to be having great fun with your new camera!

    • Jan says:

      Thanks Pam! I agree about the eyes… And I’m a big fan of shallow depth of field when I can pull it off.
      So far so good with the camera. It won’t fit in as many pockets as my old one did so I’m going to make a little holster to keep it secure when I’m out and about. I’ll show you know what I come up with.

Leave a Reply

