Monster Black Widow Mama

I replaced my camera.  Yay.  My brother David his son, also David, were in town yesterday and we went to a few pawn shops to see what we could find. We found a nice little Canon Powershot SX 120 IS that looks like it’s going to work just fine.

I checked it out, shooting random stuff around the house, deleting most of them and then decided to rearrange and tidy up my work area on the back patio. I flipped a piece of plywood away from the wall to sweep up behind it and bingo!  I found this monster.

Black WidowThe body of this lady was purt near a half-inch round.

Eeek!

She was at least two inches long with her legs sprawled out. And those two egg sacs… I have no idea how many babies could be in there.

She guarded the eggs for a few minutes and when nothing else happened she scurried  around to repair some of the damage I did when I removed the shelter of the plywood.

It was all for naught.

No way I was going to leave her and all those hundreds of babies just three feet from my back door.

Bon voyage, black widow.

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Spiders and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monster Black Widow Mama

  1. Scott says:

    Congratulations on your new camera. Looks like it works great! In fact, it’s great pictures of little spiders like this that makes me want one too.

    • Jan says:

      Thanks Scott! I’m still figuring it out, but so far I’m tickled with the results. I didn’t have to get nearly as close to that spider as I would have with my old camera.
      I decided on this one over a newer version of my old camera (which was also available at the pawn shop) because I can actually set the camera how I want it instead of taking what it gives me. And the price differential made this one the better buy.

  2. Pingback: Gray Cat with the New Camera | Cottonmouth Creek

  3. pam says:

    Creeeeepy! I really hate black widows and am so happy to finally live where they don’t like to – the Pacific Northwest – western side of the Cascades.

    When i lived in Phoenix we had so many all the time it took the fun out of moving about outside most of the summer. I always hoped for a very hard freeze to kill the eggs.

    Yuck. BUT it looks like your camera is working out great. I am assuming a very long telephoto?

  4. Jan says:

    Hi Pam ~ it has a 10x zoom, but I actually took this with the macro, so I was only about 8–12 inches away. eeeee! I know! (It’s much creepier to think about it now than it was to get the shot) but she’d already done her scurrying around and settled down into a protective posture.
    And I don’t think (?) black widows are jumpers… I would never get this close to a brown recluse. I hear they do jump.
    Thanks for commenting! It’s good to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

