Lake Willastein Park

Just got back from three days in Arkansas. I drove my mom to Conway—about a half-hour northwest of Little Rock—to spend some time with my brother’s family. We spent Saturday at Lake Willastein Park in Maumelle.

The way we wound through blocks of apartments after we left the highway I wondered what kind of park it would be. I was pleasantly surprised. There was a small lake, a large pavilion, and a pine forest to enjoy. Coming from the hackberrys, cedars and blackjacks of Oklahoma, the height and uniformity of the pines was striking.

Lake Willastein Park

Lake Willastein Park, Maumelle, Arkansas

See what I mean?

I’m still unwinding from the trip, but I’ll post more pictures soon.

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Trees and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lake Willastein Park

  1. pam says:

    Beautiful forest! I am looking forward to more pictures! Until recently, I didn’t realize Arkansas had so much beautiful country.

    I lived in OKC – two months – and I missed the mountains and forests of New Mexico and Colorado so much.

    • Jan says:

      I’d forgotten how much the scenery changes just a few hours from home. Most of the greenery was similar to eastern Oklahoma, just a few more hills and curves. But that pine forest was really striking. The tall straight lines were very orderly and as such were also very relaxing.

      You sound like a college friend of mine. She came here from Chattanooga, Tennessee and constantly said Oklahoma was flat and we had no trees. We didn’t know what she was talking about! 🙂

Leave a Reply

