And Finally the Rain Came

When we were kids, my brothers and I hardly ever got to play in the rain since we live in Oklahoma and it almost never rains without thunder and lightning. But as soon as the rain stopped and the rumbling thunder moved on mom would relent and let us out. We slammed out the wooden screen door and made a beeline for the puddles at the curb. First one to a puddle led the parade as we stomped hard and flat-footed to make a bigger splash than the kid next to us.

The stomping stopped when a worm was sighted and we squatted in or near the water, our shorts, playsuits—or even our little behinds—dipping into the puddle beneath us while quietly watched the mud settle. We didn’t have a plan, we just liked to catch worms. We’d curl our fingers over our palm to secure our prize only to be surprised when it squiggled out and fell to the ground to make a frantic getaway.

Earthworm

This earthworm is at least 12 inches long, and fat as a fine-tipped Sharpie.

We’re in the midst of a drought here in Oklahoma and Texas and finally got some substantial rain in my neck of the woods a couple of days ago. Almost five inches here in Norman. I don’t know if it was because it’s been so long since it rained but this is the biggest earthworm I’ve ever seen. I thought it was the seed pod from a nearby Catalpa tree, but when it moved I was sure it was a small snake.

After my dog stepped too close it went into a frenzy and wiggled into the grass. I pulled it back to this bare patch so I could get a picture and was surprised at how muscular this little guy was. I could feel it flex between my fingers. Kind of icky. I prefer the little wet wiggly kind in the water puddles of my youth.

When I went to Wikipedia (this is just for fun so I can use it) to see what it said there was a picture of earthworm cocoons that look like that little light brown seed-looking thing above the worm. Hmmmmm.

Another result of the rain is to make the green things grow. Even the poison ivy. It’s kind of camo’ed but there are “leaves of three” in the midst of the English Ivy.

Poison Ivy

Once again, poison ivy rears its ugly head in my yard.

I found several dozen little sprigs like this one all over the back of the yard. All but one are behind the fence, thank goodness, but I’ll keep an eye on it. I doused them all with Round Up which should wither them up in a couple of days. If my dogs roll in this stuff and come snuggle up to me I’ll soon be one big red, runny itchy mess. I’ve been there and done that and I don’t want to do it again.

Here’s a little sprig with another big fat worm in the grass nearby.

Poison Ivy and a Big Fat Worm

Little bitty poison ivy and a big fat worm

By the way, I heard the other day that onions may be a remedy, or provide relief for poison ivy itching. I certainly hope I don’t get a chance to try it out, but if I do I’ll certainly share the results.  If I know I’ve been in contact with the stuff I’ve used Zanfel, a not cheap  poison ivy scrub with good results.

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Plants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

