My Neighborhood Widow Skimmer

Dragonfly

Female Widow Skimmer

This is one of a handful of dragonflies that perch outside my kitchen window each morning. I had no idea there were so many kinds of dragonflies because I had to check out several websites before I found this particular variety. Its a female Widow Skimmer.  I found it on Willowbrook Wildlife.

Every day the horsetail grass next to the porch features at least one female widow skimmer. She always flew away when I crossed the porch to get the newspaper. But yesterday she circled around and came back. I guess she finally realized I’m not a threat. I got my camera and was able to gently move in for some closer shots. She flew away when I moved suddenly, but she came back to pose again.

Here are links to similar Cottonmouth Creek sightings; a dragonfly from last summer, and more recently a damselfly.

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Bugs, Flying Bugs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Neighborhood Widow Skimmer

  1. Emily Gooch says:

    I find dragonflies so fascinating. This one looks like the one I saw yesterday; except it had black and white patches.

    How can you tell the sex of a dragonfly?

    • Jan says:

      Hi Emily,
      This one looks like it has white spots if the light reflects off the wings just right. They fly around the backyard sometimes and look like little black and white birds.
      I don’t know how to sex these dragonflies, I found a picture this one matched and it was identified as a female. There was another dragonfly flitting around at the same time with matching wings, and a curved slender body. I wonder if that was a male. Unfortunatley, all the shots I got of that one were out of focus.
      Thanks for checking me out.
      Jan
      Jan

  2. Pingback: The Other Dragonfly « Cottonmouth Creek

  3. Pingback: What Big Brown Eyes You Have | Cottonmouth Creek

Leave a Reply

