Random Redbuds

Redbuds

A picket fence and yellow clapboard house create an idyllic frame for these redbuds.

Here in Oklahoma, redbud trees bloom in late March and April, depending on the weather. It’s closing in on the Fourth of July, so of course the blooms are gone and gorgeous heart-shaped leaves have taken their place.

Redbuds aren’t red.

The blooms range in color from the palest pink to bright hot colors. Some have a hint of lavender, others are a deep crimsony purple. I have no idea what determines the shade of the blooms, but I smile when they brighten the winter landscape as spring approaches each year.
Redbuds

The leaves are more consistent. After a slight reddish tinge when they first appear, the leaves are simply green.

Redbud Leaves

Redbuds

Redbud Leave

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Trees and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment