It’s Not a Dragon or a Fly

Dragonfly

Dragonfly

It was really nice of this fellow to pose for me this evening. He’s perched on the bare stem of one of my roses. I’ve seen him, or one of his siblings, in that same spot several times so maybe I can get a photo with more detail before the season is over.

Because of the silhouette, I can’t tell for sure what kind of dragonfly it is. It’s been rainy and cloudy for days, maybe he’ll come back when the sun comes out and I can get a better look.

Dragonflies are insects, so they have six legs, but did you know they can’t walk?

Huh.

Most of the dragonfly’s life is spent in the water as a nymph. And get this, during the nymph stage they breath out of gills in their butt! Who knew?

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Bugs, Flying Bugs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Not a Dragon or a Fly

  1. Pingback: My Neighborhood Widow Skimmer « Cottonmouth Creek

  2. Pingback: A Blue-Fronted Dancer Damselfly « Cottonmouth Creek

Leave a Reply

