Sweet Autumn Clematis

Sweet Autumn Clematis

These tiny star-shaped flowers are about an inch across.

My backyard smells spectacular this time of year.

All summer long I mow, weed eat, and pull this fast-growing invasive vine from my fence, other plants, trees, and especially my roses, to keep it from totally devouring my lawn. But come August, it turns into clouds of tiny white flowers that emit the sweetest fragrance.

Until a few days ago I didn’t know what it was, but when I searched “white flowering vine” I got two hits. Sweet Autumn Clematis (Clematis ternifolia), and Silver Lace Vine, both of which are in my yard

Sweet Autumn Clematis

Sweet Autumn Clematis

I bought the Silver Lace Vine at the Farmer’s Market a couple of years ago, but the Sweet Autumn Clematis (SAC) is native to my property, although I read the plant is native to Japan. Behind my back fence down the embankment to the creek there are SAC vines looping through the trees that are easily 6 inches in diameter, which is why I do my best to keep it out of my yard and off any plants I don’t want smothered.

After the flowers fade, the feathery seeds and red berries are also quite spectacular.

When the Bloom Fades

The seeds are almost as showy as the flowers are!

I read these are best propagated by planting seeds in the fall so if anyone wants one of these let me know. I will have more than enough seeds to share in a few weeks.

It is obviously well established around my property, which is why it seems to pop up everywhere. It would be ideal to grow on an arbor or to cover an ugly fence. The trick would be to cut it back to about just a stub at the end of the season and let it start over again in the spring.

About Jan

I write. I cook. I take pictures. I sew. I design. I create.
This entry was posted in Plants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweet Autumn Clematis

  1. Pingback: Black Widow Spider… Oh My! « Cottonmouth Creek

  2. Pingback: Sweet Autumn Clematis 2011 | Cottonmouth Creek

  3. Pingback: The Sweet Smell of Autumn is Here | Cottonmouth Creek

Leave a Reply

